Geography Scaling SACE 2026: Does It Scale Up or Down?
SATAC scales every SACE subject before an ATAR is calculated. The SATAC scaling report is the authority on what this subject did.
Does SACE Geography scale up or down?
SATAC scales every SACE subject before an ATAR is calculated.
SATAC does not publish a per-subject raw-to-scaled conversion for this course in a form we can quote exactly, so there is no figure on this page — the direction above is sourced from the SATAC scaling report linked below, and should be read as directional rather than numeric.
You can't change the scaling. You can change the raw mark.
Scaling is decided by your cohort, after the exam, and nothing you do moves it. The raw mark is the only part of this you control — and the Geography hub is 20 full-length model exams with mark-by-mark answer guides, revision notes, practice questions and flashcards, built for exactly that.
The hub shows a sample revision note extract, one full exam question with its worked answer and the complete list of every exam and note title — no account needed to look around. Unlocking Geography for life is $20 once, or $50 for any three subjects. See what's included →
What Geography actually asks of you
Stage 2 Geography has three assessment types. Assessment Type 1: Geographical Skills and Applications (40%) is four school-assessed tasks. Assessment Type 2: Fieldwork Report (30%) is an individual report on the student's own fieldwork, school assessed. Assessment Type 3: Examination (30%) is the externally assessed e-exam: 130 minutes with no separate reading time, in two sections that must both be attempted in full. Section 1 (geographical skills, built on a separate topographic map sheet and on-screen reference materials) and Section 2 (Topic 1 and Topic 3 only) have each carried 28 and 32 marks out of 60 in the 2024 and 2025 public e-exams (65 minutes suggested per section), while the 2023 e-exam — under the outline in force before the 2024 change — split 27 and 33 marks (60 and 70 minutes suggested). The subject outline itself specifies only "two sections" of "approximately 50%" each and publishes no mark total; the 60-mark, two-section shape is read from the Board's own past e-exams, not stated as a fixed 2026 specification. Approved graphics or scientific calculators may be used (memory cleared, no CAS); there is no formula sheet, data booklet or notes sheet. School and external assessment are combined into one grade from A+ to E- against the performance standards — the exam is not reported as a percentage and no mark-to-grade conversion is published.
The Geography exam is Friday 13 November 2026, 1.30 pm (130 minutes (no separate reading time)). Source: SACE timetable.
The 4 areas of study you are examined on
From the Stage 2 Geography Subject Outline (version 1.0, from 2024).
- Geographical skills and fieldwork (examination Section 1)
Section 1 is built entirely on a separate topographic map sheet (real places used so far: Interlaken, Switzerland in 2025; Wollongong, NSW in 2024; Papatoetoe, Southern Auckland in 2023) plus on-screen photographs, satellite images and cross-sections. It draws on grid and area references, direction and latitude/longitude, contours and relief, scale (distance, route length and area), and reading and comparing photographs, satellite images and older maps. Fieldwork content is tested through unfamiliar scenarios rather than the student's own investigation: writing a testable hypothesis, choosing and justifying primary data-collection techniques, judging the validity and limitations of a method, and evaluating whether a graph, map or table is an effective way to present a data set.
In the exam: Every part is marked on specific map or source evidence. Papers have asked students to identify a feature at a six-figure grid reference, pick the highest-elevation grid square from contours, describe a route between two points using direction, distance, elevation and land use, match points on a cross-section to features on the map, evaluate why a site suits a stated use, describe how a photographed or mapped area has changed against an older map or image, suggest and justify two primary data-collection techniques for a stated hypothesis, complete a partly filled fieldwork-planning table, and evaluate a thematic map or graph and suggest a genuinely different alternative presentation method.
Where marks go missing: Treating an 'alternative method' question as satisfied by a different-looking version of the same technique: the 2025 Subject Assessment Advice records that offering a choropleth map as an alternative to a choropleth map scored zero. The Advice also notes many students could not use the map's scale to convert to a real-world distance, and that repeating the same observation in two parts of a multi-part answer earns no extra marks. - Topic 1: Ecosystems and people (examination Section 2)
This topic covers ecosystem components and how they interconnect (water, soil, atmosphere, vegetation), the categories of ecosystem services (provisioning, regulating and cultural, with supporting sometimes mentioned), how land-cover change drives land degradation and biodiversity loss, and the ecological footprint and biocapacity — what they measure, why footprints vary between countries, and government and community strategies to reduce them.
In the exam: Papers have asked students to explain how a boxed area on the map provides regulating, provisioning and cultural services, interpret a footprint-per-capita-versus-biocapacity graph and suggest reasons for the trend shown, explain how land-cover change from new housing affects the relationship between two named ecosystem components, suggest ways a city's land-cover change affects its total ecological footprint, and explain strategies governments use to reduce footprints and improve sustainability.
Where marks go missing: The 2025 Subject Assessment Advice records around 20% nil responses on an ecosystem-services question and widespread confusion between the three categories; the 2024 Advice records many students naming tennis courts and water tanks as ecosystem services rather than the process behind a genuine service. A footprint is not a carbon footprint — it includes cropland, grazing land, forest products, fishing grounds and built-up land as well as carbon — and clearing native vegetation is a biocapacity loss, not by itself a footprint increase. - Topic 3: Population change (examination Section 2)
This topic covers population trends (birth and death rates, total fertility rate, life expectancy, ageing), population structures and pyramids and their consequences (including the dependency ratio), the factors driving those trends in economically developed and developing countries, and the movement of people — types of migration, push and pull factors, and the impacts of migration at origin and destination, including forced migration.
In the exam: Papers have asked students to analyse a components-of-population-change graph commenting on both natural change and net migration, describe a pattern of net migration shown on a map, discuss the implications of an ageing population with reference to a real or studied example and a specific government response, identify a political and an economic barrier to international migration, and evaluate the effects of outward migration on an origin country or region using named examples.
Where marks go missing: Total fertility rate is the average number of children a woman has in her lifetime, not a birth rate, and the 2024 Advice records this being confused; replacement level is about 2.1. The 2025 Advice records a question asking for challenges of migration being answered with push and pull factors instead — those are two different things. Any question built on natural-change-and-net-migration data expects comment on both, not one. - Topics 2, 4 and 5 — Climate change, Globalisation, Transforming global inequality (school assessment only, not examined)
The subject outline requires every Stage 2 Geography student to study Topic 2 (Climate change), Topic 4 (Globalisation) and Topic 5 (Transforming global inequality) as well as Topics 1 and 3, and each is the subject of at least one Assessment Type 1 school task.
In the exam: Not examined. Every public e-exam from 2023 to 2025 has drawn Section 2 only from Topic 1 and Topic 3; climate change appears in the exam only indirectly, as a regulating ecosystem service.
Where marks go missing: Assuming a topic that was taught must appear on the exam. Practice built around Topics 2, 4 or 5 is study time spent on content the e-exam cannot test — the exam only reaches map and fieldwork skills, Topic 1 and Topic 3.
How scaling works in South Australia
In South Australia, the SACE Board reports a grade from A+ to E- for each Stage 2 subject and SATAC converts it into a scaled score out of 20 (out of 10 for a 10-credit subject). It does not scale the grade directly: the grade for each assessment type and the external result are turned into a raw score out of 15, weighted by their share of the subject, then scaled so that the same level of achievement counts comparably whichever subjects a student took. The university aggregate, out of 90, is built from your best 90 credits of scaled scores — your best three 20-credit subjects in full plus a flexible 30 credits from a fourth subject, half-scores, 10-credit subjects or recognised studies — and the ATAR is your rank on that aggregate. Scaling is recalculated every year from that year's cohort, so any published figure describes one past cohort only.
What scaling is not
Scaling is not a difficulty rating and it is not a bonus. It compares how the students in one subject performed across every other subject they took, so a subject moves because of its cohort, not because of the paper. The consequence is practical: you cannot scale your way out of a weak result. The only lever you control is the raw mark, and the fastest way to move that is full-length timed practice against the real exam format.
Questions
Does SACE Geography scale up or down?
SATAC scales every SACE subject before any ATAR is calculated. We do not publish a figure for this subject; the SATAC scaling report is the authority.
How does subject scaling work in South Australia?
In South Australia, the SACE Board reports a grade from A+ to E- for each Stage 2 subject and SATAC converts it into a scaled score out of 20 (out of 10 for a 10-credit subject). It does not scale the grade directly: the grade for each assessment type and the external result are turned into a raw score out of 15, weighted by their share of the subject, then scaled so that the same level of achievement counts comparably whichever subjects a student took. The university aggregate, out of 90, is built from your best 90 credits of scaled scores — your best three 20-credit subjects in full plus a flexible 30 credits from a fourth subject, half-scores, 10-credit subjects or recognised studies — and the ATAR is your rank on that aggregate. Scaling is recalculated every year from that year's cohort, so any published figure describes one past cohort only.
Should I choose Geography because of how it scales?
Scaling adjusts a whole cohort, not one student, so choosing a subject you will struggle in because it scales up is usually a worse trade than doing well in one that scales down. Check the prerequisites for the course you want first, then your interest and workload, and treat scaling as a tie-breaker. Scaling is also recalculated every year, so the figures in any report describe a past cohort rather than the year you are sitting.
Keep going
- SACE Geography hub — practice exams, notes and flashcards
- SACE Geography practice exams with worked solutions
- SACE Geography Stage 2 revision notes
- SACE Geography practice questions with worked solutions
- SACE Geography flashcards
- Get the SACE Geography Mastery Pack
- SATAC ATAR calculator — name your subjects and it builds your dashboard
- SACE Geography past exams by year and topic
- SACE Geography subject outline explained
- SACE exam timetable 2026
- Every SACE subject we cover
- Scaling for every subject, state by state